User Management in Managed VictoriaMetrics

The user management system enables admins to control user access and onboard and offboard users to the Managed VictoriaMetrics. It organizes users according to their needs and role.

The document covers the following topics

  1. User Roles
  2. User List
  3. How to Add User
  4. How to Update User
  5. How to Delete User

User roles#

Managed VictoriaMetrics provides different levels of user access. It defines what information users can access and edit in your account.

You assign the role to the user during the user creation procedure. You can change the role after the creation

Roles definition#

User Role Categories Description
Admin Deployments Access to all deployments tabs and information

Create, update and delete deployment

Billing Details Check billing information
Notifications Create and update notifications
Audit Logs Can check all information in audit logs
User Management Add, edit and delete users
Editor Deployments Access to all deployments tabs and information

Create, update and delete deployment

Notifications Create and update notifications
Audit Logs Can check all information in audit logs
Viewer Deployments Access to Overview, Monitoring, Explore and Alerts deployments tabs and information

User statuses#

Active The user can log in and use Managed VictoriaMetrics. The user role defines the access level.
Pending Invitation An invitation was sent. The user must accept this.
Inactive The user is registered in the Managed VictoriaMetrics but has no access to perform any actions. Admin can activate or completely delete the user.

User list#

It shows all users with different roles, and you can apply provided actions with them.

In the table, there is additional information about the users:

Email: Registration user email
Status: Active, Inactive or Pending Invitation
User Role: Admin, Editor or Viewer
Last Active: Last login date and time
Auth method: Auth options to login into the Managed VictoriaMetrics

How to Add User#

Click on Invite user button the user invitation button and fill out the form in the modal, which will appear after you click. All fields are mandatory.

After filling out the form, click on the Invite button. The user will be saved, and an invitation email to the provided email address will be sent. As a confirmation, you will see the success message.

The invitation link is only active for 24 hours.

The user will be at Pending Invitation status. After accepting the invitation user status changes to Active.

How to Update User#

To edit the user role and details, activate or deactivate a user, and click on

or user email to edit the user.

User editing form:

To save changes, click the Save changes button. If changes are saved successfully, you will see a message at the top of the page.

How to Delete User#

You can delete a user from your account. However, you will need to invite them again if you want to give them access.

Click on Delete button to delete the user.

To confirm the deletion of a user, you will need to re-enter their email address and press the Delete button

You will be redirected to the main page with a success or error message

How to resend invitation#

If the invitation is expired, it is possible to resend email to the user

Click Resend invitation button

Confirm resend invitation by clicking Resend button in the modal dialog

If invitation successfully resented to the user success message will appear